Ways to Help Flooding Recovery in Glenwood, IA

Iowa and Nebraska continue to experience record flooding. In many places, flood waters have not yet receded. In other areas, even more flooding is expected between now and the end of May. Many individuals and groups from local UCC churches have asked how they can help.

One of the best ways to help is through donation of funds that can be used for any need. For Iowa, Nebraska and South Dakota UCC Congregations, there are three options for giving:

1. One Great Hour of Sharing — general giving for natural disasters and refugee ministries

2. UCC Special Relief  —  Can be designated to Midwest Flooding or other particular disasters

3. The Iowa, Nebraska and South Dakota conferences also have special funds designated for disaster recovery ministries managed by conference staff and/or conference boards of directors. To give to those ministries, send a check marked with “state-Disaster Ministries” in the memo line to our Des Moines office: 5609 Douglas Ave., Des Moines, IA 50310.

If you want to get your hands dirty, there are many groups organizing volunteer teams right now to help muck out homes in Glenwood, Iowa. If you can give a day, or even an hour, here is the contact information for a number of agencies helping in that area:

All Hands and Hearts
Phuong Le
phuong.l@allhandsandhearts.org
978-799-8938     
As needed muck and gut debris removal/mold sanitization

Christian Aid Ministries
Steve Reber
smrebers@yahoo.com
573-723-0682
Statewide muck out crew

Convoy of Hope
Jason Anderson
jasonanderson@convoyofhope.org
701-866-2939
Statewide muck out crew

Hope Force International
Joey Stoltzfus
joey.stoltzfus@hopeforce.org
518-728-4440
Statewide cleanup; muck out; spiritual/emotional/mental healthcare

International Orthodox Christian Charities (IOCC)
Alexis Rouches
arouches@iocc.org
612-389-7277
Statewide cleanup; removal 

Lifegate Church (State Patrol Chaplain)  
Deb Hoffman
dhoffman@discoverlifegate.com
402-650-3100
Statewide muck out crew 

Northeast Nebraska COAD
Wayne Briner
wayne.briner@yahoo.com
402-631-7683
Statewide cleanup; muck out; debris removal; feeding service; IT support

Operation Blessing
Tom Wiley
tom.wiley@ob.org
757-282-9134
Statewide 30+ self-deploy muck out; Crisis Cleanup jobs

Team Rubicon
Amanda Stricker
amanda.stricker@teamrubiconusa.org
308-225-2235
Christa McDermont
christamcdermont@teamrubiconusa.org
310-883-4270
Heavy equipment; demolition; mold abatement 

World Review Disaster Relief Services
Ben Dykstra
bdykstrava@live.com
847-372-0902
Statewide cleanup; muck out; chainsaw, tools, equipment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *